Version 7.00 queries

clemenzina

I am completely new to this type of editor.

The very first VP tutorial I've looked at has me flummoxed - I can't find UNDO in my version 7.00 and I would really need it.

https://i.imgur.com/AABMceP.jpg

Another problem is the "We are caching your file to speed things up"... which takes for ever, as my recordings are often very long, my screen-captures are always done in 1-hour clips but downloads can be many hours long.

I shall probably have lots more stupid queries, as this (to me) very complex method of editing is like learning a new language, and not a European one, either! :o

Undo: It's in the menu (icon with the three horizontal bars): "Edit-> Undo...". I always use the keys CTRL + Z instead, that's a lot faster.

Caching: Yep, it takes very long and it never stops, as long you are working on your video. Usually that doesn't matter, but if VideoPad is getting too slow, many people (me included) transform their clips to a lower resolution and work with them. If you have finished editing and want to render your video, save your project, close VideoPad, replace the smaller clips with the original ones (e.g. by renaming the folder they are saved to), then start VideoPad and load your project. Now you can export your video.

5 hours ago, clemenzina said:

I am completely new to this type of editor - I've been using Freemake Video Converter for 8 years (but it has been degraded by the developers and no longer functions as it did, and is very unstable in its present form) and Windows Movie Maker for its stability and to rescue clips that Freemake can't join up.

The very first VP tutorial I've looked at has me flummoxed - I can't find UNDO in my version 7.00 and I would really need it.

If VP confuses you, don't even think of trying Davinnci Resolve. It's got a 2600 page manual... that uses very technical language.

Hi