Software won't let me cut/delete 5 mins of video

dee100

My first video is 33 mins. I did several successful cuts delete. Then at 8 mins, the x does not come up when I cut...after 5 mins, I am able to cut and delete.

There are several black and grey lines in this 5 mins problem area. I tried undo, it doesn't change

Any help much appreciated....I am a complete newbie.

• borate changed the title to Software won't let me cut/delete 5 mins of video

What "X" are you referring to?  Expand the timeline with the slider at the bottom-right and see if that helps. image.png Then use the horizontal bar at the bottom to scroll the entire timeline.  In Storyboard mode each clip on track 1 will be shown.

Share your project.  Someone will take a look and come up with a fix.  The process is easy, quick and can be done privately.  Just follow these steps...

•     Back up --- With your project on the timeline, click on MENU at the top-left.  Click FILE|BACK UP PROJECT FILES TO FOLDER.  Choose a folder and SELECT FOLDER.
  •     Upload ---  Use a free server - Google Drive, MS OneDrive, etc.* - to upload the saved, numbered FOLDER.    Do NOT upload the individual VPJ or export file. 
  •     Get link --- Get a public link.  If using Google Drive click GET SHAREABLE LINK. If necessary change "restricted" to "anyone with the link can view" 
  •     Share ---     Click COPY LINK | DONE.  Paste that link here, or click the folder at the top-right of this forum to message it privately to me.  It won't be shared.

*    Before uploading, right-click the folder, click PROPERTIES.  Look at the File Size to confirm that it's not too big for the free space on the server.

Hi

Simplest (most intuitive) way of removing a section of your project..

• Drag red cursor line to the beginning of the section to remove.
  • Click the scissor icon (Split)
  • aa.jpg
  • Drag the red cursor line to the end of the section you want to remove
  • Click the scissor icon (Split)