how to make widescreen

benat

• 4 weeks later...

Dear borate, I'm new with very little practice (I do not even know what means "esoftware").

But I have probably a similar problem:

- There is a video on Youtube - with dark stripes on the left and right;

- I would like to stretch the video horizontally on the screen;

- I've been through VideoPad / 3.02 mutated (exported) this video as a "widescreen" (TV / Youtube).

But all my efforts ended in failed. (:

Maybe I will hear from someone any idea?

HI Vlad

You cannot stretch your film as this would deform the image. (i.e. squash it) and VP will not allow this.The image (the picture) will stay with the same aspect ratio as the original.

However, if you want widescreen (16:9) and eliminate the side bars, you should crop your image to widescreen (16:9). This means you will lose some of the picture from either the top or bottom (or both) depending on how you position the orange rectangle in the setup for the "Crop" effect.

VP will now fill the frame from side to side without any distortion or side bars.

Nat.

• 10 months later...

I do a lot of reediting of professional movies. Many of those are shot more broadly than 16x9, and thus have black bars top and bottom. If I want to do any cropping, is there a way to add the black bars again so that the shot appears consistent with the original cut?

Hi

If you mean "Can I make a standard clip look the same as the broad clip" then as it stands the answer is NO.

You can however,use the Crop function to get the same aspect ratio and produce bands at the top and bottom but it will result in you losing the top and bottom of the frame.. Use Crop without forcing a different aspect ratio and pull the top or bottom of the frame in so the aspect ratio is the same as your elongated clip and then drag the orange frame to best enclose the subject.