Cropping Files

MwhVid

I'm putting together a video that is a compilation of clips people recorded on phones and pictures, also taken on phones. Is it possible to crop these images and videos so that they take up more of the screen and the black sides are less? I couldn't figure out how to zoom/crop manually other than right clicking and selecting crop then changing the ratio to 16:9, but that cuts the top and bottom of the image off. I'm relatively new at this, so any help is greatly appreciated!

Several effects may do the job ... ZOOM, SCALE. CROP. etc.   A portion of the image may be lost in the translation, but can be positioned to highlight the best area.

Upload a few assorted examples (zip them if appropriate) and someone may have specific suggestions.

Use a free server, such as Google Drive or MS OneDrive, get a shared (public) link, copy the link and paste it here or to me in a Private Message via the mail envelope in the top-right corner of this forum.

Using Google Drive, if necessary change "restricted" to "anyone with link can view."

Thanks so much. I figured out the cropping, but now I am having a hard time with transitions between video clips. I took a few screenshots and they're in a google folder here: https://photos.app.goo.gl/Y3J8uJirgKiLZD8JA

I have 2 questions:

1) I have 2 video clips, and the transition between the 2 is only showing up on the first. If I try to change the duration it only lets me increase it to 0.012 total, but it's still only on the first clip (I just want to fade between the 2). This is the "Transitions.jpg" file.

2) Is it possible to make a transition not evenly balanced between 2 clips? I have a title at the beginning of the sequence, and I want that to slowly fade out then fade into the first clip but don't want to take a lot off the first clip (a lot of my clips don't have any extra footage on the ends). This is the TextCrop.jpg file.