Stabilizing 4K video

Rover

I'm using Videopad 8.45 Professional, on a pretty powerful laptop. Until recently I was shooting HD video, usually 5 minute projects made up of 1 to 4 clips. It would stabilize these in 10 - 15 minutes, and after editing, export them at high quality in about 3 minutes.

I just started shooting some 4K. I would expect it to be a little slower, but  mostly it is OK. It exports a 5 minute 4K video at high quality in about 6 minutes. However, the stabilization is a real pain. It won't stabilize a clip of more than 2 minutes - it just grinds to a halt. Even with a 2 minute clip it can hang for a very long time. This morning it did 95% of a video in 20 minutes and took 2 hours to complete. Currently it has been stuck half way through a video for 30 minutes, the progress bar hasn't moved at all. Looking at task manager, it is only using 50% of the pc memory and about 15% of the cpu, so it doesn't look like the pc is being stressed. Is this a known issue for other people? Are there any workarounds?

Please share a clip that has the issue and someone will check it out.

Have you changed any stabilization settings?  To what?

Upload to a free server (MS OneDrive, Google Drive, etc.) get a shareable, public (non-restricted) link and post that link here or to a private message via the envelope at the top-right of the forum window.

OK. I'll try to set something up tomorrow.

The only change to the setup I have made is to check "extrapolate colours into corner" - I have always done this. I choose "high quality".

By the way, the clip that was stabilizing when I wrote the original post started running again about 20 minutes later and completed in about 15 minutes.

Hi