Using clips

Joy P

I'm quite new to Videopad, but find it quite intuitive (V3). But my video clips imported into the left-hand window seem to be in quite haphazard order, so I have difficulty finding each one in turn to add to the clip preview window for editing. I am trying to make a movie from clips taken on holiday, and there are a lot of them. I have to keep going back to the folder that they were originally uploaded to from my camcorder, where they are in order. Does anyone know a way round this?

Hi

In V3 I am not sure whether you can alter the media list file order after they are loaded as I have switched back to V2 which I still prefer. The following refers to V2.41.

If you want the files (clips) in media list to be in the same order as your clips in the PC folder, then open VP and then reduce it. Now open your PC folder holding your clips and reduce that as well, so you can see both windows side by side. Now on your PC folder click Edit and Select all. Now drag all the files which you have highlighted in the PC folder across and drop them onto the VP media list window. They should all load in order. (May take some time if you have a lot.) If you use the VP "Add Media" tab then numbered files will load in digit "sorted" order ....1, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15,........2, 20, 21 ....3, 30, 31... etc.

Now, If you want them to all load to the sequence line in media order then left click clip one, scroll down to the last clip on the list, hold down the Shift key and left click the last clip, they should all highlight in the media list. Right click the highlighted list and select "Add items to the sequence".

Provided you have set "Options" /"Other" for adding clips to end of the sequence, the clips will be added one after another with the default transition, (which is also set up in "Options",) between each of them. (The default transition is not implemented in V3 as far as I could see.)

Nat

Here's how I have to do it....

Add file (video)