Experiencing difficulties when applying transitions between clips

John Kearns

Hi, I am a new VideoPad user having recently installed it and this is actually my first experience of video editing too so, I am a real novice.  So far, I have found VideoPad to be generally pretty intuitive and I feel that I am getting along with it reasonably well.  That said, I am having trouble getting a smooth transition when I apply them between clips.   I've noticed that I quite frequently get a split second repetition of part of the clip I'm transitioning out of at the beginning of the clip I'm transitioning in to, just before the clips changes to the new view.  I've tried everything to resolve this but I'm really struggling to understand what is happening here.  My guess is I'm doing something silly but what?  Any guidance would be very much appreciated.

Many thanks,  John, Oxford, UK

Hi

If using an overlapping crossfade transition Clip 1 fades out for the selected duration whilst Clip 2 fades in during the overlap. 

If the fade out part of the transition is faulty, (There used to be a bug in an earlier version where Clip 1 faded out incorrectly.)then opaque frames at the end of Clip 1 might flash up.

Check this...

Place a clip on the timeline and follow it by a blank black clip. Add a crossfade to the join between them and see if the end few frames of clip 1 flash up at the end of the fade out or at some point around the join. This might imply that the the fade out part of the transition is faulty as Clip 1 should disappear completely.

As an alternative place Clip 1 on Track 2 with the black blank clip on Track one just overlapping underneath at the end of Clip 1. Add a Fade Out  effect to Clip 1 and check if there are any frames that suddenly show up  at the end of the fade out.

If you want some info re; what the transition process is just ask. Others may come in with suggestions here.

Nat