Setting keyframes but objects moves between points

cwebster4

I'm a newbie to this software so take that into consideration, please.

So I'm just trying to get some text and an object to move into frame from left to right and center on the frame. I want it to hold and then move off from left to right. Simple, right? No, the points that I want to hold keep inserting positions moving the text and image back and forth like a drunken sailor. Any tips on how to do this without the Jack Daniels effect?

Jack and I have been friends for many years and I can assure you that he is not the issue here. There is no performance quirks in play as far as I can see it for this is a simple choir for Express Animate. You might be a newbie but we all make small errors and don't realize it. First I want to make sure you have made one of the layers/objects a parent object and have the other a child. Then as the parent object moves the child will follow to the letter. Next you want to make sure that you are not the problem. When you moved the objects did it take you a few moves with the mouse to place the objects? You may have inserted many small moves that you don't know you inserted. Look on the time line, and if you see more than four positions for your objects, this is the issue. Below I have the steps you should have taken:

Create a text box with the content you want. Drag it left off screen to the starting point you want.

Create/load the object you want to follow your text. Drag it off screen and place it where you want it in relation to the text.

Use your mouse, right click on the object you want to follow the text. A window opens, select Assign Parent, select the text box that you created from the list.

Now in the parent time line, using the position "New Key" diamond button, make sure a dot appears on the timeline setting the starting point of your parent object.