Question on how to edit a video

John Berg

I'm brand new to Video Pad but I have been struggling for over an hour trying to figure this out.  I basically want to know how to edit segments out of an MP4 video.  I have some video files that have commercials in them and I simply want to be able to clip these segments out of the video and delete them.  Nothing I have tried is working.  I've followed several instructions through the NCH tutorials and even though  I follow these to the letter the video segment never gets deleted.  Needless to say, I have become very frustrated with this aspect of the software.  Can someone give me some basic instructions to follow in order to do this?  I've been trying to use the set start and set stop buttons as well as the delete sequence actions on the menu but nothing actually allows me to delete the segments I am marking.  Thanks.

*One way, with a clip on the timeline...

Split at the IN point, split at the OUT point.  Right-click in the split-out area (which is now a new clip) and Delete (ripple).  Or select the new clip and press DEL on your keyboard.  The split scissors icon may be in a slightly different place, depending upon the version.  If a gap appears, right-click in the gap and Close Gap.

*Another way, with the clip in the bin (not yet on the timeline)...

Right-click on the clip and COPY.  Right-click in an empty area of the bin and click PASTE (Clip/s).  Do this for as many deletions as desired.                                        Each will have a incremental #.

Don't touch the original bin clip.  Instead, use the Set Start and Set End Buttons for each copy to isolate the video that is to be used.
Then select one or more clips and drag them to the timeline in the order desired.  Or right-click on each clip and click a Place option...

image.png