Editing conundrum in MixPad

shosty

Hi all,

I've been using MixPad for many years and have not found a convenient way out of this conundrum.  But sometimes I am oblivious so here I am looking for an answer!

Below is a tune with quite a few edits with cross fades. I have to say, I've gotten fairly quick at editing with cross fades and have my own system to get the job done.

Anyway...here's the problem: As you can see, all of the clips are locked because I don't want them to move after getting a nice smooth edit.  What do I do if I decide I am not happy with one of my edits and I want to nudge just *one* of these clips to tweak an edit?

So lets say I want to nudge to the right clip no. 4 to get a smoother edit between clips 3 and 4. I will need all the clips to the right of clip 4 to move together with my nudge.

Of course, this is possible in MixPad but it is very cumbersome, unless you all know something I don't. Please share!  What I do is one by one highlight clip 4 and all the clips to the right of it, then one by one unlock all the clips to the right of clip 4. Now I can nudge and all the clips to the right nudge right along with it.

Besides being time consuming, what if I accidentally click in the wrong spot?  The clips all unhighlight and I have to start over.  Oy!

Or what if the tune is much longer, say 15 minutes, and it has a bunch of edits, say 30? You get the idea! 

Another way is to merge the clips every time I am happy with the edit. But then again, what if want to nudge the edit or redo it? If I go back to the history and unmerge the merge, I lose everything I did since the merge.

Am I missing something here? Is there a better way???