In and Out Points V.4.45

eager to learn

Hi,

I'm a newbie to both video editing and Videopad.

I watched a YouTube video on how to use VideoPad but she was using Ver. 2.2 and that looks different than the v. 4,45 I just downloaded.

She instructs that when you wish to set the In point for a video you click a Red Flag. I don't see any Red Flag button on my more recent version.

She then instructs that you set the Out point but pressing the Blue Flag button. I don't see any Blue Flag button on my more recent version.

Maybe I’m not in the correct positioning?

I have the first frame of the video I want in the larger white window in the upper left and it has a green check mark in it for some reason.

IN the Video Track 1 "timeline" I see several video frames but not the one I wish to start with.

I'm not sure how to resolve this?

Once I do have the In/Out set correctly, must I first Save the Project or can I just export that video selection portion of the video by pressing the Export Video tab?

Will the sound to the original video just carry over to the edited video portion or must Ii do something to the sound time line (below the video timeline), too?

Thanks so much for your help.

Hi

The "larger white window on the upper left" is the media list window showing the clips you have added to VP. In fact there are several windows (or bins) depending on which tab at the top is being used. (Sequences/ Video clips/Images/Audio clips)

The green check mark you mention is to show that you have placed the clip onto the timeline. (ie ..it is being used)

Note: The IN/OUT markers only display in CLIP PREVIEW and only with Video clips.

As you have already placed the clip onto the timeline it is presumably in an unedited state..i.e. you have not yet used the IN/OUT markers, therefore the clip you see there, along with its thumbnails represents the complete clip.

Selecting the clip on the timeline will not now show Clip preview but Sequence Preview instead.