starting a new time frame

Pete S

I'm new to Express Animate and just feeling my way.  I haven't understood yet exactly how to start a new time frame and link it to an existing one so that one image will follow another in the display.  Can someone explain in detail (for an absolute beginner) exactly what steps I need to take and in what order to achieve this ?

Peter Swain

peterswain33@yahoo.com

Hi Peter

Express Animate is not a slideshow or frame-by-frame animation program. It is more a "motion graphics" animation program. Think of it as "I have a bunch of shapes (or images). Now I want them to move around (move, resize, rotate, or change colour)". It is more like directing a movie or play than creating separate animation frames or a slideshow.

So, create an ellipse at frame 0 (or you could import an image), move the timeline marker to 1 second and drag the ellipse to a different place (you will probably be asked if you want to enable animation for this parameter. Yes, you do). You will see a movement path. Move the marker to 2 seconds and drag the ellipse to a different position. Now use the play controls to go back to frame 0 and play the animation you just created - the ellipse will move around the canvas.

Be sure to watch the two tutorial videos: http://www.nchsoftware.com/animation/support.html

You can also move the timeline marker and click one of the diamonds at the left-side of the timeline to set a new key(frame) for any property (at the point in time I want the property to have this value). Movement happens between keys/keyframes for the Position property (at this point in time I want the Position to be here. At a later point in time, I want the Position to be there).