Client Connection Confusion

cylonraider

I am new to the DIY VOIP system. I have been using Packet8 for many years. I haven't had to do anything special to make my Packet8 DTA function. I just plug it in and it connects to their servers and I have a dialton. But, I am not really happy with several factors, costs and features to name a few. So I started looking for various vPBX systems and I am really impressed with the simplicty of the AXON server. I know there are others out there that may be more complex and expensive, but I am looking for simple and cheap at this point.

I have a colocated server in a datacenter. I am running Win2003. I installed AXON and connected a callcentric account to the outbound lines. I setup a few extensions and I can log into those extensions with Express Talk from the server's desktop (via Remote Desktop). I am now trying to get the clients to connect from remote locations to the AXON server. On my local router/firewall, if I open port 5060 and point it directly to my workstation, I am able to get Express Talk to connect just fine. But the other computers in my network can't connect to AXON remotely. If I turn off the 5060 port forward, I can't connect to AXON.

The confusing thing to me is that I can connect to my Callcentric account just fine regardless of whether 5060 is forwarded or not. So my question is.. what is callcentric doing that I am not? I turned off my firewall on my AXON server so that I could rule out the firewall. I don't believe my datacenter is blocking any ports besides some SQL ports for security.

Other bits of info that might be helpful:

1)I have UPnP on my router. It is enabled.

2)ET says i have a symmetric NAT and that it can't use uPnP

3)ET says it can't connect to the default STUN servers. stun.fwdnet.net and stun.xten.com

3)I have tried entering in my network's pulic IP and set port to 5060 and 8000