What is best practice for organizing a complex VideoPad project?

CDDavis

I am a newbie.  I am running VideoPad 13.15 on a very large Window 10 machine with SSDs, Nvidia GPU, and AMD threadripper cores.  I also have NCH WavePad and Prism and other programs at my disposal.

I am creating videos that run about 45 minutes in duration at 1920x1080

The video content comes from numerous clips from various sources, plus video clips exported from PowerPoint, plus single image jpg and png files.

Narration needs to be added to most video clips and images, existing narration retained on a few clips.

I want to take advantage of transitions and multiple videos overlayed on the same screen in a few cases, and fixed and moving subtitles in a few cases.  I don't want to be limited in the effects available, nor do I want to have to reapply those effects if some other video clip is changed or edited.

When I edit a particular video clip, I want its new content to be included automatically in the VideoPad project without having to reapply transitions and adjust clip start and end times or lengths where it abuts other clips.

I have recently learned that a VideoPad project:

• containing multiple sequences can not export a single video that combines all sequences
  • containing multiple video tracks can not apply transitions between tracks

My “intuition” is that I need a single “low level” VideoPad project for each clip with narration added to that clip, export those videos, and then use “mid level” VideoPad projects to combine low level exported videos with transitions and export those mid-level videos, and finally a “top level” VideoPad project that combines mid-level exported videos with transitions into a final, complete video.

Is there a better way?

Are there any gotcha’s or pitfalls to be aware of with what I have described?

Normally, transitions apply only to adjacent clips on the same track, and higher tracks always take precedence.  But fades can cross tracks.