Jump to content

Purge Unused Media from Bins


icemel
 Share

Recommended Posts

Looking for quick way to remove all unused media from media bins, either in a project or via saving/exporting project with (only the used) media. Is this possible or is it a manual operation? (100s of slides unused!) 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

With the focus on the bin, press <ctrl-A> to copy all.

Press the <del> key or right-click on a selected clip and DELETE.

A prompt appears.  Check the "do the same" box, then click CANCEL.

If you make a mistake, press <ctrl-Z> or EDIT | UNDO.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi

Further to this ....

With the display set in a "normal" preview window size arrangement this method will remove the unused clips from only the one bin displayed and will need repeating for each bin in turn.

However if you drag the preview screen(s) as wide as possible by dragging the vertical white bar to the left all the bins will display one under the other as they all become narrow with a vertical scroll bar to the right instead of at the top. It's easier to see if  you switch to List view ........ 

zz.jpg

The Ctrl+A step will now highlight all the bins together. The method (using Cancel) will now remove unused clips from all the bins in one go. The exception will be the sequence bin.(You can't delete a sequence if it is the last one,) so simply skip that when it is prompted.

Nat

Link to comment
Share on other sites

"all the bins in one go"
even cooler! Thanks Nat. Luckily I only had about 10 bins this time.

Maybe this will become a feature someday vs what seems to be a handy hack.

Cheers

Mel

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi Mel

It's been put forward as a possible enhancement possibly making it more intuitive or even adding a right click menu item to the bin area. (e.g. Delete unused clips from the bin)

Another point I mentioned was that whilst the TN view shows which clips in the bin(s) are marked as used with a green tick, the List view  doesn't show this although in very early VP versions I feel certain they were. It would be nice to keep some continuity across the displays.

Nat

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...