Help Overlaying still frames over video

EGOR

I am trying to prepare a video project for next week.  I am trying to overlay a still image that I have over certain parts of a video clip, essentially so that parts of the video are masked.  I have been trying to use the  Add Objects > Add Overlay Image function to do this, since that sounds appropriate, but cannot figure it out.  I am not very tech savvy, but can certainly follow simple instructions.  Please help me!  

Add Objects > Add Overlay Image is one route.

Or position the scrubber (red line) where you want the overlay to be and right-click the image in the bin.  Choose OVERLAY ON SEQUENCE AT CURSOR.  OR simply drag the image to track 2.

Depending upon the size of the track 2 image, it may be all that can be seen.  Higher tracks take precedence over lower tracks.

Click the fx button in that track 2 clip and use POSITION, SCALE or other effects to place and size it where you want it.  The background image on track 1 will be seen behind the overlay.

You can even animate the overlay image, to track the background scene.  See http://help.nchsoftware.com/help/en/videopad/win/effects_animating.html

Thanks, but that seems to just overlay the exact same clip I already have over itself?  How do I choose a new still image to overlay the animated clip?  Think, how would you simply overlay something like credits over an animated clip?  Should be possible, no?

Hi

Assuming you have a clip on Video Track 1 then you load your still image onto a higher track; let's say Video Track 2.and you adjust its position to be on top of the video clip. Position the red cursor line so it passes  vertically through both clips.