How to "close" any "open" bin file

Gracie

I'm really new to VideoPad...and this must be simple...but I cannot figure out how to CLOSE an item in a bin that I've only opened so I can review it.  I've  made no changes. 

Is the step to SAVE AS its original name?  Haven't tried that.

Thanks.

SAVE overwrites the existing VP control .vpj file.  SAVE AS allows for a name change.  It's wise to incrementally number several generations of a project - just in case.

A file in a bin can be previewed or added to the time line, but it's not "open" as such.  To get rid of a file in a bin, click on it and press the <del> key or right-click|DELETE.

If the file is on the time line a warning prompt will appear.  Even if the file won't be used in the project, it can be left in the bin.

Thanks so much.  Learned a lot from your response...most importantly that "file in a bin...is not 'open' as such."  Without that bit of info, I never would have considered DELETE as an option. 

However, if the video file is not "open," how do edits that are saved in .vpj get married to the video file.  Instinctively, I had already begun, as you suggested, incrementally numbering the progressing .vpi project.  And just now I was horrified because I spent two hours on edit #2 that I was celebrating because I completed a fairly complicated segment, saved the project-2.vpj -- and the video clip doesn't have the new material. 

How do I view my newly edited project?. 

Thanks, again.

Hi Gracie