Missing/Hidden Recording Features?

Rassoodock

I am new to WavePad and like it so far, but have three recording issues that I can’t seem to figure out. I am hoping they are just features I can’t find and are not missing from WavePad.

1. How do I see the waveform of the audio I am about to record before I actually record? My old sound editing program would let me see the waveform while I played the audio so I could properly set recording levels before actually recording.

2. Where do I set the recording levels?

3. How do I listen while I am recording? The “monitor” during recording is silent. I’ve had to wait until the recording is done to go back and play it to hear anything. There must be a setting I’ve overlooked.

Can anybody help a newbie out? Thanks!

I am recording audio through a Behringer UFO202 USB interface that connects to a tape deck.

I also cannot find how to adjust the volume during playback or select the output device within WavePad. It is "stuck" on LOUD and my headphone jack.

I hope the solutions are obvious and I'm just missing them. These are pretty basic features.

Thanks!

Maybe someone with more experience with what you are attempting will join in the discussion - I admit to never using WavePad for recording purposes myself. I think it really better suited for editing (which with I do have much experience.) But tomorrow I will attempt to configure my gear to simulate your configuration to get a sense of what you are saying. I'll report back soon. 

It has been a while since I recorded on my computer from a tape or phono source, but I always use the NCH program Golden Records to do so. 

Good morning. I have messed around a bit and experimented with recording from a cassette tape deck into WavePad. You are likely aware of much of what I state here; I am just trying to find common ground to better discuss the process. I used a windows 7 machine with WavePad version 5.1. Sorry if I get too wordy ....