recording issue

bradr

When I try and record my desktop, I tried it saving to an avi and a mov and bot times it recorded audio but black screen.  when I did it as an mp4 it was ok.  It wasn't a game or anything, just about 1 minute of desktop movement.  Any ideas?  I usually buy my software in a store so I am a little leary of downloading and buying in the first place.  Any ideas?

9 hours ago, bradr said:

I tried it saving to an avi and a mov...

I don't understand "saving to".  I use "Record as", and have just recorded the same wildlife webcam, which is displaying on my desktop, in both avi and mov and the files play absolutely fine.

Ab26qs0.jpg

I am no expert but I do a lot of screen-capturing and have found that mp4 is the best "bang for buck" - avi recordings tend to be less easy to edit and I don't see much, if any, quality difference - and do mov files require QuickTime?  Can't remember, but I can do without that cluttering me up ;) -

11 hours ago, clemenzina said:

I don't understand "saving to".  I use "Record as", and have just recorded the same wildlife webcam, which is displaying on my desktop, in both avi and mov and the files play absolutely fine.

Ab26qs0.jpg

I am no expert but I do a lot of screen-capturing and have found that mp4 is the best "bang for buck" - avi recordings tend to be less easy to edit and I don't see much, if any, quality difference - and do mov files require QuickTime?  Can't remember, but I can do without that cluttering me up ;) -

I meant to say record as.  What is the best thing to use to edit an mp4?