add video file but no preview

brockisit

Hello Everyone

I am new to videopad video editor professional. I started a new project, and added a video, and added it to the timeline, but in all the windows I am not seeing a preview of the video. Can someone please help me? I registered the software and updated it to videopad video editor masters edition, but still no preview. Please any help would be great, or do I need to contact support to fix this?

bye

brockisit

Hi Einstein

I added a AVI file. I don't know how it was produced. Found it on my computer. I went and bought this program at Frys electronics, and looked all over the box for requirements but it says it works with windows xp. I am able to play the file outside of videopad with video and sound.

I haven't tried a jpeg file yet

any help would be great. Does this program work on a 32 bit?

I could always try it on another computer

Hi

VP works fine on 32 bit systems. (Like mine)

As suggested add a couple images to the media list and drag one down and drop it on the timeline. It should preview in both left and right preview panes. If it doesn't then you have a problem with VP, and I suggest you re-install the software.

If the previews work OK then load the second image to the timeline so it follows the first and add a crossfade between them.

Now save (export) the timeline as an .avi video to your PC.

Close VP, restart it and add the new .avi video to the media list. Drag it to the timeline and check it both previews and plays.

If this is OK then VP would seem to be working OK.

The fact that the .avi you initially loaded from your PC (.avi is simply a container for the video) didn't play may mean that it was corrupted or empty (you can check its size) or was wrongly encoded. Try loading another format of video...wmv; mpeg etc.and check they work OK.

Nat

Hi Einstein