help remove(delete) a part in middle of clip

hankeron

I am very new to all of this but I have spent several hours now trying to remove 16 secs from a 2hour mp4 clip. I ended up with my computer crashing as I tried to do too much at once with it. I have searched the help file, and watched 3 videos, and read starter guides and more, and searched this forum and have not found out how to remove a part from the middle of a video clip. I don't need to trim the front or back, I need to remove a bit in the middle.

Is there anyone who could explain step by step how to do this or tell me where to go to learn. Or maybe another editor that could do this. I can't use movie maker, not working on vista system anymore.

desire to: remove 16 secs of video from the middle of a mp4 video clip.

useing videopad video editor version: 3.04 on a vista pc

I would think this is a common thing, like removing dead space in home recordings or commercials from recorded tv.

Thanks for your time and attention any help would be greatly appretiated.

Move the red timeline cursor line to where you want to cut on the sequence and press J (alternatively use the scissors button under the sequence preview). Doing this splits the clips at that point, so you can delete any unwanted clips afterwards.

I have spent several hours now trying to remove 16 secs from a 2hour mp4 clip. Is there anyone who could explain step by step how to do this or tell me where to go to learn.

Move the red scrubber line to the IN point. Click the SPLIT button.

Move the scrubber to the OUT point. Click SPLIT.

Hold down <control> key and left click the clip in the video and then the audio timelines - to select both.

Right-click on the segment to be removed. Click "delete selected clip."

Hi