Newbie Question--Want to Stream MP3s on Web Site with "jukebox-style" control on the site

RangerRik1

Hi All,

I'm new to streaming so please forgive me if this question is elemental but I'm having a hard time reading through all the documentation/websites...

I have a client who is running an IIS6 web server on Win2003. He has one site which he would like to stream audio from. It is a charity web site (for sick children, like the "Make-a-Wish Foundation"). No big media demands for this web site... He just wants some background music...

He setup a nice little flash player on his site's home page called the "premiumbeat" player. And he set up a large (100+ songs) play list...

IT WORKS.

However, the site is fairly busy (10-25 users at a time) and we are concerned about bandwidth bogging. We only have a 1Mbps connection. It is my understanding the current web server http transfer between the player and server is a bandwidth hog as the player begins to download a long list of mp3 files... and that, conversely, a streaming server will only serve what the user(s) need as they need it. Am I thinking right?

My general question is: Is broadwave a good choice for this purpose? Will broadwave work with our existing premiumbeat player?

If not--any suggestions? (other servers/players)? As the site is small (and for charity) we are looking to accomplish this as inexpensively as possible.

Thanks for any help and/or suggestions.

--Rick

• 3 weeks later...

Hi

At a guess, it will replace the existing player, you will need a link on the website that points to the Broadwave stream within your local network (perhaps on the web server itself).