Device and Encoder Settings for Video Capture

CanticleP

I am new to video editing and would greatly appreciate it if someone could advise me regarding "Device Settings", "Encoder Settings" and "Property" Settings for video capture please.  I am using a video capture device with the red, yellow and white RCA plugs (plus S Video) with a USB connector for the PC.  My PC is 3.6Ghz, 16 GB of RAM, Windows 10.

I have the latest version of Videopad and plenty of spare disk space.  I would like to capture video from the following devices: Sony Digital Camera/Recorder (Mini DV Cassette tapes); Sony Handycam Camera/Recorder Hi8; and a standard VHS player.

In the "Record"-> "Record Video" under the "Devices" window I have selected "USB 2861 Device" (there is no other choice);  "Line (Master AV Cap)" - I assume this is my capture card - the only other choice is a mic I have connected; and "640x480 [4:3] 29.97fps" which is top of the list and therefore I assume it is the default.

Under the "Device Settings" -> "Properties" ->"Video Decoder" tab the only change I have made is to select "PAL_B" instead of "NTSC-M" which is what it was when I first opened Videopad.  I have NOT checked the "VCR Input" box.  I have not made any changes to the default settings under the "Video Proc Amp" or "Video Image" tabs.

As I am using the "640x480 [4:3] 29.97fps" setting (default???) should I check the "Video Input" box in the "Video Decoder" tab when I use the VHS player AND the cameras or should it only be checked when using the VHS player? Or should I not check it at all? 

Also, in the "Video Image" tab should I change "Pic Size" from "Default" to "640x480" to match it to the  "640x480 [4:3] 29.97fps" setting?  On burning my first effort to DVD (burnt at 4:3) which I took from video captured on my Sony Digital Camera/Recorder (Mini DV Cassette tape) reproduction was reasonably good but there were times with fast moving subjects when their image momentarily "ghosted".