VideoPad not running well on new PC

Velys

So for quite some time I've been using VideoPad, I love it for its easy to use features to create a video compared to another program which I don't use much. I'm still using an older version of VideoPad which has worked well for me (4.00). On my old laptop, it ran fairly well with only getting slow downs and "building preview" when projects got pretty big. When I my laptop fried this year I decided to get a new PC, something more powerful. 

When I reinstalled my 4.00 copy of VideoPad, I opened up a project I had been working on for a few months and I noticed that it ran slow. I was getting "building preview" and freezing issues far more often than I did on the laptop and I noticed it was causing the CPU temps to rise quite high. I tried Adobe Premiere and it ran great, better than before without issue so I figured its likely the program itself. Again I'm still using 4.00 but I've never had a problem before.

PC specs:

Win 10 x64

Ryzen 5 3600

Geforeforce GTX 1660 super

16GB ram

X570 a-pro motherboard

Can't say why it's running poorly, and it is wise to edit and export a project from the same, or a close version.

But substantial improvements and enhancements have been made since 4.x.  Upload a trial version of 8.42 here.   Retain your old install file and registration info.

Under OPTIONS | EDITING tab,  toggle "use hardware accelerated video effects..." and see if that makes a difference.

Also, before loading a new or long-unsed project, click OPTIONS | DISK tab and Clear Unused Cache Files.

Then load the project and let it fully cache (solid green line above most thumbnails) before beginning to edit.

Also, if you share your sluggish project, someone will be glad to test it on their system.  This is easy, quick and can be private.  Don't upload the export, just the PORTABLE project folder.

Here's how...  http://nch.invisionzone.com/topic/23659-tips-for-getting-help-on-this-forum/