trouble with overlays

Kilbehenny

I have made a video, which contains, in parts, overlays of one video [in top right corner, i.e. inset] over another, however, in some parts it works fine, but in others the main video does not show, only an blacked out screen, except for the small overlay in the top right corner. If I remove the overlay then the background is fine [where it's the only video].

My background is set as video 1, and my overlay [inset] is video 4. I really don't know what happened to videos layers 2 and 3, or how to reveal them as I cannot see them on my screen [jumps from 1 to 4]. Not sure if that's part of my problem though.

Any ideas where I'm going wrong, or if there is a setting in the overlay that says that any piece of screen not used by the inset should be blacked out?

For info I use the following FX on the inset: Scale 0.4 / 0.4 horizontal/vertical ratio, and position 27 / -27

thanks

Diarmuid

• 4 weeks later...

hi. thanks for the offer of help, and apologies for my delayed response. I was not familiar with that method, however when I tried it, it resulted in a subfolder with 47GB of my videos together [i.e. those that make up the film in question], making it infeasible to share. 

In order to recreate the situation, I then saved the clips that gave rise to the aforementioned problem, and creates a new video with these clips, in the hope that I see the same issue, which could then be shared. However the problem did not manifest itself.

I think my problem must be in the complexity of my video somehow. For example, I can see video tracks 1, 4 and 5. I have no idea where 2 and 3 might be, or how to uncover them if they are simply hidden. Doing so might be a clue in my dilemma.