Multiple video tracks

DrBob

Newbie here. I was trying to add titles and clips between some clips I had already put into a sequence, and I seem to have inadvertently created a second "video track." I now have "Video track 1" and "Video track 2". When I preview the sequence, it shows the added clip in the right place. However, when I go to Storyboard, I don't see the clips from "Video track 2". All I want is a single sequence. Why did I get a "Video track 2", and how do I combine the two tracks into a single track? Thanks in advance.

Depending upon the intent, it can be wise to use multiple video tracks.  But only the main track will be visible in Storyboard mode.

Be aware that higher numbered tracks overlay lower number tracks.  If there is an image on track one and another of the same size on track two, only track two will be seen.

Make the track two image smaller - with SCALE, for example - and track one will display in areas not covered by track two.  This is picture-in-picture.

When the project is exported, all tracks in the sequence will be combined.

Hi DrBob

".. Newbie here. I was trying to add titles and clips between some clips I had already put into a sequence, and I seem to have inadvertently created a second "video track." I now have "Video track 1" and "Video track 2". ..

When you first open VP and start a new project you will only see Video Track 1. However, above this is a grey zone into which you can (as it says) drop Overlay Clips, Text and Images.  When you do this the area becomes Video Track 2.which is an Overlay Track and a new grey drag and drop zone is created above this and so on.