VideoPad: new Windows laptop recommendations?

sjanzeir

Hello everyone,

My name is Shady and I'm new to this forum.

I've been using VideoPad Master's Edition since late 2017 to edit some cycling action videos and post them on YouTube. The primary machine that I've been running VideoPad on is an ancient Dell Latitude 6410 from around early 2011 (which I had bought, slightly used, in 2015,) with a first-generation Intel Core i7 640M processor (2.8GHz,) Nvidia NVS 3100M graphics (512mb dedicated RAM, if I recall,) and 8Gb of RAM (the maximum amount this machine is capable of using.)

Until recently, the laptop could handle my work with 1080/30p video just fine. When I attempted to edit my first 1080/60p video, though, VideoPad could barely even cache the footage, let alone preview it smoothly. Worse yet, after the latest Windows update, working on even 1080/30p became a waiting game; any higher resolutions or frame rates are simply out of the question.

I tried using my wife's newer, third-generation i7 laptop with 1Gb AMD Radeon HD 7570M graphics. I'm sorry to say that it wasn't any better - not even slightly. In fact, my older machine performed slightly better editing 1080/30p video!

So, I guess it's time for me to start looking for a new(er), more capable laptop. Can I safely assume that any current i7 processor (and decent graphics hardware) will handle VideoPad smoothly, or are there any particular hardware recommendations I should follow?

Thanks in advance,

Shady

Recent VP versions incorporate caching improvements.

For resource intensive video editing, beefier is better.  Something along the lines of an I7, 8GB RAM and NVidia video 6xx video would be minimal, in my opinion. though some VP users succeed with considerably less.

Prior to loading your project, Clear Unused Cache Files (OPTIONS|DISK).  Right-click the preview window and reduce preview resolution to the lowest acceptable numbers.