Updating Imported Clip Sequences.... is it possible?

Miri

Hi,

I'm new to the software (and video editing in general) and have a basic question: is it possible to import clips from other videos (or just other little video pad videos) such that when you edit the clip in the original video, it updates in the new one? I'm looking to this as an external and live link, similar to how artwork might be updated in illustrator each time it is loaded? I've tried with what I could fathom, but it didn't seem to update my changes and import the clip in its latest version.

Any help is much appreciated. As I mentioned, I'm quite new to this and so while I tried to do a search of the forum to see if this topic has been covered, i'm *so* new to video editing I'm sure I haven't been able to find the right key words or terminology to help in my search! So, even if you can just help with that, that'd be great!

Cheers,

Miri.

Import a clip to the video bin and place it on the timeline.  Add effects to that clip, then export the timeline sequence as a video file.

That file is just another clip that incorporates your changes and can be loaded back into Videopad.  Is this what you have in mind?

Hi Borate,

Thank you so much for getting back to me and clarifying.

What i mean is I have recorded some little clips and saved them as video pad files (.vpj). Lets call it 'sequence5.vpj'. In sequence5 I do some edits, cuts, merges of a few avis, and save. I keep it in the native vpj format - no exporting. Then, in my main movie, I import sequence5 as one of the sequences on my timeline. And I save that also as a vpj, lets call it 'Movie.vpj'. I put the movie together and feel a tweak needs to happen in sequence5, such as adding an effect to one of the clips within Sequence5. So i open sequence5 and make my tweak, and save in the vpj format. When i get back to Movie, it still has the old version of sequence5, not the latest version with the new tweaks in it.

Was that more clear?