Editing In Portrait

Cody Vlogs

I have been using VideoPad for about 2 years now, and with the new release of IGTV, I wanted to make some portrait videos. VideoPad does not seem to be able to export portrait and will instead export it as a 16:9 video, how do I change this? Is there a way to make the preview window(s) portrait view also? TIA! 

On 6/21/2018 at 10:31 AM, borate said:

Both preview and export can be set to any ratio.  Right-click in the preview window and CHANGE PREVIEW SETTINGS.

In the video export box, click in the RESOLUTION field, then click CUSTOM and input your parameters.

Thank you for the info on the preview settings! I am still having problems with exporting though. I cropped the video to portrait size and exported at 720x1280 and it came out small. Here is what the video came out looking like (The clips that are smaller are the cropped ones):

Hi

You don't need to crop the video. That just makes it smaller. Once you have set the preview to  AR 9:16  the VP frame will be 9:16. Note that the clip preview will still be 16:9 and the thumbnails will be 16:9 but the active area, i.e. the video frame  will now be  9:16 The chequered bars (or the black bars) are simply there to fill the frame. The resolution values you choose only affect  preview resolution (and the processing time to generate,  thumbnails and timeline  etc. Lower values tend stop the incidence of the "Generating Preview" warning if that is a problem you may have.)

You export your project simply by choosing the Preset Auto detect option in the export parameter screen. This will set the export to the resolution of the original clip. If you want something different you can set the values under the Resolution boxes Custom setting

Nat

@Cody Vlogs

It's also worth asking if your original videos are 9:16 or 16:9, because the process might change slightly.