VideoPad Freezes Video, Doesn't Allow Me To Pause, But Audio Is Fine

Column 1

So the title says it all, every 30 seconds or so, the preview will just freeze up, the audio continues on just fine, and then I can't pause the preview, or do anything at all for that matter. I am new to this program, and I would appreciate any sort of help at all. Thanks in advance, -Column 1

Video editing is resource intensive.  What are your PC's specs:  CPU, GPU, free space on the drive, memory?

Close all other programs that might be running in the background.  Lower the preview resolution (right-click in the preview window to see that option).

Under the OPTIONS|EDITING menu, try toggling the HARDWARE ACCELERATION choice to its other state.

Are you using the current version of Videopad?  If not, give it a test.

If your project is reasonably small, place it on the timeline and then click FILE|SAVE AS PORTABLE PROJECT.

Upload all the files that result to DropBox, Google Drive, MS OneDrive or the like. Or zip them and upload the zip file.

Make the link public and post it here.  Someone will check it out.

Hi

Sounds like your PC is struggling to process the preview display. Normally VP would put up a message to say it was  "Building Preview"  when it stops for that reason but if the PC is just working hard it may stutter . You could try reducing the resolution of the display by clicking Options and under the Display window change the Preset to a lower value. Keep the aspect ratio the same (usually 16:9) so try the smallest first (512 x 288) and see if that makes any difference.

Nat

12 hours ago, borate said:

Video editing is resource intensive.  What are your PC's specs:  CPU, GPU, free space on the drive, memory?