Issue: Fade out effect turning off when running

claireji

I wonder if anyone can help me... I am fairly new to Videopad and cannot for the life of me figure out why this is happening.

I have added a 'fade out' to the audio at the end of my video and want it to fade to silence as a text title plays.

I added the 'fade out' and it plays perfectly when I double click the audio file and play it alone in the top screen. HOWEVER: when I then click back to the full sequence and play in with the video, the audio does not fade out.

I have been looking at this for HOURS and now losing my mind a bit! Please help!

Thank you...Cx

You appear to have unearthed a bug in 5.11 (and perhaps earlier versions).  To work around it here's a convoluted procedure...

1.  Select (highlight) the clip that's to be faded.

2.  Right-click on that clip and SAVE AUDIO CLIP AS NEW FILE.  It will appear under the audio tab in the media area.

3.  In the preview window, right-click on the audio display and apply the FADE OUT.

4.  Click the original audio clip on the timeline and use the ||<   and   >||  keys under the preview window to align the scrubber (red line) with the start of this clip.

5.  Click on the new audio clip in the media bin.  On the bin's toolbar, click the chevron just to the right of the green arrow.  Click the OVERLAY SEQUENCE AT CURSOR choice.

That should place a duplicate of the audio clip directly under the original.

6.  Right-click the original audio clip on the timeline and click UNLINK FROM VIDEO.

7.  Right-click the original audio clip on the timeline and click DELETE.

When the sequence plays it will switch from channel 1 to channel 2 audio at the start of the clip in question, and it should fade out.

Might just be the same...

Drop an audio file onto audio track 1.   Add a FADE OUT.  Run the sequence.  The fade is there.

Now add a split to the track - prior to the start of the fade slope.  Run the sequence.  Fade is gone.