Saving clips from longer videos

Gddad87

Hi, I am a newbie to video editing but have read some literature on principles. I have lots of video on my drives in .avi taken from various videocams and I want to cut these down into shorter named clips so that I can mix them in full videos. I have Videopad Full version 5.4, bought yesterday. Today I have experimented on the above by:

Loading a video file (.avi)

Running it in Clip Review

Using Start and End to take a new clip

Using Place to put it on the Timeline

Using Export (on top row) Clicking Video File

Saving the file as an .avi to a folder on my HDD

This appears to work but I wonder if I am taking the easiest path.

One nuisance is that, having taken a clip, I would like to cancel the Starts and Ends to allow me to start a new clip; how can I do this?Thanks for any help or suggestions  for an 87-year old

Hi

You are on the right lines by trimming a clip in the Clip preview window with the IN/OUT markers.

As you have discovered the markers remain in their selected position on the clip preview screen. If you want to edit the same clip  again you just re select it from the clip bin and move the markers to their new positions. The clip you already edited will not alter.  If you select a new clip from the bin the markers automatically move to ends of the clip.

There are other ways of editing a clip..have you tried adding the whole clip to the time line and then playing it to the point you want to start at (or sliding the cursor line to this point) and then Split the clip. Move along to the end of you selection and Split the clip again. Now select the the bits not required, right click  and delete them. This weill inevitably leave gaps so right Click any gaps and select  "Close the gap in the Track"  This is just like editing classic cine film.