Text and background

DWFII

I am a newbie to this forum and to videopad...although I used Windows MovieMaker quite sucessfully back when I was on XP.

I have version 3.02 of Videopad.

I am trying to edit a video and the first problem I've run across is that I would like to have an introductory/title clip running about 15 seconds. There are several problems I have encountered here that don't seem to be covered in the help files.

First, I can enter the text and change the font but changing the fill and the oputline doesn't seem to work. What am I missing?

Second, I would like to have some sort of background for the text--either an imported image or a coloured back ground or a snapshot (?) but i don't see any place where I can import an image or set the background colour (I don't like the default "checkerboard") or alter the background in any way. Again, am I missing something?

I may have a few other problems but finding an answer to these will at least get me started.

Thanks

I would like to have an introductory/title clip running about 15 seconds.

First, I can enter the text and change the font but changing the fill and the outline doesn't seem to work.

After entering text and clicking on ADD, click the large "T." You should then be able to alter the outline, underline, italics, size, etc. It works here, using version 3.10. Click on APPLY to save.

I would like to have some sort of background for the text--either an imported image or a coloured background or a snapshot but i don't see any place where I can import an image or set the background colour (I don't like the default "checkerboard") or alter the background in any way.

The text clip should be inserted on a track above the clip that is the background. Thus, the text becomes an overlay. The checkerboard is not a background, but an indication of where the background will be visible when the text is overlayed.