Pausing video to insert audio clips

demogd

I am new to the product and the forum. I would like to be able to add a narration to an existing video that has a sound track. My narrations, which are explanations, are sometimes longer than the quiet spaces in the original audio track. Is there a way to pause the video (freeze the image) to insert an audio clip and not effect the synchronization between the original video and audio tracks.

Hi

Although you can "freeze" the action easily enough, this won't always look quite right. Although you say that you don't want to alter the synch of your associated audio, any method that alters the length of your video will have some effect on the sound, and "freezing" the action certainly will unless you are prepared to play about with the sound track.

If you find you cannot shorten your narration to fit the video clip then you should try slowing down the action in the clip section concerned as I am going to describe. The first thing to do is save the project then you can always reload it if things don't go OK.

I am assuming here that you have recorded your bit of narration as a separate clip, or have cut it out of a complete narration and it's in the media list.

Now you will need to cut out (not remove...just isolate :) ) the section of your video against which you wish to place this narration.

Play your video to the point where your piece of narration is going to be placed. It's better to stop at the point where the shot or section or scene in question changes, (and provided you don't have the previous bit of narration there.) Adjust the red cursor line to exactly this spot by stepping forwards or backwards with the < > buttons whilst monitoring the right hand preview screen. Zooming in can help here. Now split the video by clicking the button marked "Split" on the left of the screen.