VP 2.12: panning mono audio

picardjb

Hi

If I understand you correctly, you want a stero effect of the sound track moving left, presumably to match the visuals. and you have a mono sound.

Track 1 and all the others, as far as I know, play in stereo and I don't think there is a function within VP to separate the channels left and right. No good trying to fade from one track to another as all you are doing is simply fading out/in both channels and there will be no effect. I think the only way you can do it is to use an external sound file program.

Nat

PS I manipulate my sound files with a program called XZoom which will enable me to split a mono channel sound into two channels and then after manipulation of the fades etc.allows me to save them back as a stereo signal.

Thanks Nat. Im new to VP and do appreciate your very kind helpfulness.

Re stereo field settings... well, if VP doesnt do panning, I guess I could always mixdown my tracks first externally in Audacity or WavePad and then import the result into VP hoping all pan settings will be maintained. But will they?

John in Rome

Hi

Just had a go at creating the effect you are after and yes, you can do it...

I am assuming you are going to use the sound from your video clip. So..

Open VP and load the video clip into the Media list and then right click it followed by the option "Save audio track as a separate file" The audio will then appear in the Media list.

Right click the audio clip and then select "Edit in external editor". It should open up in Wavepad (might prompt you to load wavepqad if you don't have it already)

In wavepad left click the Effects tab and select "Stereo pan"

Now click the "Select preset" button followed by "Pan Left" and "Apply"

Check it plays in the left channel and save to the desktop as "left.wav"

Now go back to Videopad and repeat the procedure with the audio clip but this time in wavepad select "Pan right". save as "right.wav"