BroadWave Set-up Assitance

pierres

Hello,

I am new to BroadWave, I have read most of the Threads in this section but still I am unable to access the stream on another computer on the same network:

1) I have the audio on the computer on which I am running BroadWave (the stream is operational and signal meter is active);

2) I am using port 88 and I have verified that it was opened;

3) I have validated my IP address at ipaddy.com;

4) The address I use on the second computer is: myipaddress:88/broadwave.asx?src=1&kbps=56

5) I have disabled my firewall and antivirus for 2 minutes to validate if they were the source of the problem (but same results)

What am I doing wrong or missing ?

Thank you in advance for your assitance,

Hello Pierre

Welcome to the forum.

There are a number of things it might be, but my first guess is that you should check the IP address. If you used ipaddy, it would have told you your "public" address. That is, the IP address your router has on the internet.

That will usually be different from the local IP address on your local network.

The PCs (etc) on the local network are allocated an address by the router, something link 192.168.0.10, for example. If you are connecting from one PC on your local network to another on that network, you would use the local address.

You can find out the local address by going to Start / Run / CMD, then typing the command IPCONFIG /ALL (it does not need to be in capital letters, I just typed it that way to illustrate the command). It will tell you the IP Address of the local connection. It's the address of the PC running broadwave that you need to type into here: http://myipaddress:88/broadwave.asx?src=1&kbps=56. Note the http:// in front of it - some players are fussy. Also make sure port 88 is open on the Broadwave PC's firewall, if any.