Express Scribe update + professional license not compatible with foot pedal VEC Infinity IN-USB-2?

Alyssa T

Hey all,

I'm pretty desperate for any advice someone might have for me...I'm freaking out! Today I updated ExpressScribe on my computer because it was performing poorly. I've been using the free version for the past 2 years with only minor issues, such as occasional freezing and lag. Today, the program for some reason was having severe issues with playback so I thought it probably just needed an update. Not so! It only made things worse. I discovered that Express Scribe no longer seemed to recognize my foot pedal (Infinity IN-USB-2) at all! Even though it had been working for the most part up until this point, Express Scribe no longer seemed to see it as a valid foot pedal--or even a foot pedal at all. The screen indicated that there was no device recognized at all. My next course of action was to buy the professional service, since a family friend had similar issues when her "free trial" ran out. I figured it was a gimmick to force people to buy the program but I felt like I had no choice, since there's no comparable transcription software out there that's actually free of charge. I purchased the professional software for $40.00 (not the standard but the advanced license). Unfortunately it appears that the pedal is STILL not recognized at all by ExpressScribe! When I open the application and go to Preferences>Controller setup wizard, it claims that there is no plug and play foot pedal connected at all, when that is clearly not the case. Even with the updated, professional purchased version! When I click on "plug and play controller diagnostics", I get the following message:

Plug and play controller diagnostics for Express Scribe Transcription (Registered) v 6.04 (Mac OS X 10.10.5):

No devices found

--- End ---