How to avoid loss of quality in slow motion videos? (See examples)

sbs

Steve here again, I'm still very new to videopad, and relatively new to video editing in general?

Is there an inherent loss in quality, when a clip is slowed down?

For example, see these clips (about 30 seconds each)--

Full speed:

2/3 speed:

I used Videopad to cut these clips out of the raw footage, and to slow down the one clip to 2/3 speed.

Both on vimeo, and in the actual clips (as seen on VLC video player), the 2/3 speed clip is blurrier than the full-speed clip. In particular, if you randomly hit freeze-frame as you play back the 2/3 speed clip, you'll often land on a frame where some of the features are rather blurry, or where there is a fainter "ghost" second image offset from the main image. This is particularly obvious if you look at the long white straps that extend forward in the frame. On the full-speed version, no matter where you freeze the playback, the picture is usually sharper, and never contains a second "ghost" image.

Does anyone have suggestions to avoid this loss of quality?

The original footage was from a Go-Pro camera, 1280x960 pixels, 29.97 fps. Those are also the settings I entered into Videopad, both for the full-speed version and for the 2/3 speed version.

I'd appreciate any suggestions. Hoping to get better results with slow-motion video, was one of the reasons I abandoned the editing software I was using previously.

Steve

Hi Steve,

When a clip is slowed down. There are missing frames in between the original frames. For example slowing down a 30fps clip by 50% (15fps) and export to another 30fps clip, you'll have a missing frame in between every original frames.

Currently VideoPad generates the missing frames by cross-fading the original frames. That's why you see the "ghost" image in some frames.