El Capitan OS Problems

kneimond

Anyone having an issue getting Mixpad to recognize their audio interface since upgrading to OS El Capitan? I'm using the M-Audio Fast Track Pro. All was great until I updated the OS to El Capitan. Trying to track down if it is an M-Audio driver issue or a Mixpad issue.

Hi kneimond,

I suspect the issue is mainly to do with the upgrade to El Capitan. The latest core audio drivers for the fasttrack don't mention support for El Capitan and the latency issue you describe is very likely to be driver related.

When you change the latency settings on the fasttrack are you getting any changes at all?

Regards,

Ben

Hi Ben,

I am getting some changes, but I'm new to the latency adjustment game. Are there common settings that I should try to determine the best setting for my hardware/drivers? I was basically just setting the value randomly.

Thanks, Kevin

Hi Kevin,

Ok so in the context of audio hardware, latency actually refers to the internal buffer size that the audio hardware uses to record/playback music. The smaller you make that number the smaller the buffer size is and the smaller the latency.

The lower the latency, the more processing your computer has to do because it has to swap buffers more often which is computationally expensive. If your computer is unable to keep up with swapping these buffers often enough you will start to experience issues like audio looping and skipping and jerky playback and recording.

A higher latency is easier for your computer to handle, but it comes at the cost of adding a time lag to your playback. What this means is that when you are playing your track and you make some changes to something like the volume or pan or an effect, you will not hear those changes until the next buffer swap.