Format is not supported by Express Scribe

Cooncatz

Okay, got a new pc few weeks ago, WIN 7, installed current version of ES (free). Worked fine at first but now I get "Format is not supported." I have been using one version or another of ES for 10 years all with DSS files. I know in the past I needed a patch but see nothing in my searches for that. Why all of a sudden does it refuse to load? I wanted to roll back to an older version, but there seems to be none for WIN 7.

I use this for work so I need a fix! TIA!

• 2 weeks later...

Since I cannot find how to post a new Q, can I ask if the same question above in regards to WAV files? To back track, I had to get ES on new PC win 7. After the free trial, everything stopped that I used to do. Heck, my PC cant even find my footpedal anymore even if I try a different program altogether and I had used it with ES free trial! This is really frustrating. It seems that ES messes stuff up even if not used.

TIA!

• 2 months later...

Just purchased Express Scribe Pro because it supposedly supports DSS files. I have repeatedly tried to open a DS2 file and get the message that that format is not supported. So is a DS2 file not in the same class as DSS files? Or is there something I'm not doing correctly? I need to be able to open this and other files for my work as a transcriptionist. Thanks.

• 1 month later...

http://www.nch.com.au/scribe/kb/1444.html

Version 5.30 of Express Scribe and Express Dictate version 5.41 now support DS2 file format. Now Olympus PRO and Philips PRO (and any other) recorders or devices using this format can be read through Express Dictate and Express Scribe.

How do you "support DS2 file format" and ask to convert the files to dss at the same time? No wonder customers buy your product expecting the software to support the format.

Hallo N_C_H_joshb,