Adding Video Files from DVDs

Robert Henry Durrett

I am new to VideoPad, new to this forum, and am a neophyte in the world of video making. Please allow for this.

I am tasked with making video DVDs for my church. A few of the files needed are on existing DVDs and I need to add those files to the sequence. [Most of the needed files are on .mov files already on my PC and I already know how to add them to the sequence.] There is no discussion of downloading from DVDs in the VideoPad help files. Perhaps there is a way to create video files on my computer from the DVDs? How?

Any suggestions for how to do this would be much appreciated. Do I need to purchase new software? I use Windows 7.

This is my first time to try to do this.

Bob

I just found the following information from Microsoft by doing a Google search: Incidentally, the DVDs I am concerned with are "Home DVDs"

"Copy/Paste the VIDEO_TS folder from the DVD to a new folder on the PC." [This is using Windows Explorer in Windows 7].

I have not tried this yet since the DVDs in question are at my church. I will get them later and try it.

PLEASE IGNORE MY TYPOS.

Hi

Put the DVD in the drive slot on the PC and right click the CD drive icon.

If the DVD starts to play, stop and close the player and right click the drive icon again.

Now select to "Explore" the contents of the DVD from the menu that appears.

You should see an AUDIO_TS folder and a VIDEO_TS folder.

Double left click the VIDEO_TS folder. Inside you will find, (among others) one or more VTS_xx_x.VOB files.

You can drag and drop these VOB files directly into the Videopad media list window, or drag and drop them to a folder on your PC first and add them to the media list in the normal way.

Nat

Thanks, Borate and Nationalsolo.