Video Stabilization in Videopad

phgjenn

I'm new to VideoPad and I just downloaded their free version for home. I'm trying to stabilize my videos as they are very shaky but I can't find the video stabilization tools in the software. One video I watched said to right click on my video and choose stabilize - but when I right click, that option does not show up.

Can anyone help? Does the free version come with the stabilization tools or do I have to buy the professional version?

Thanks,

J

Hi

Load your shaky video in the normal way (Add file) It will now be listed in the media list under the "Video Files" tab.

Note that you don't have to have the actual clip on the sequence line to stabilize it.

Right click the video on the Media list.

The fourth option down in the menu is "Stablize Video."

Left click this option

VP with now do this task and ask you at the end if you want to swap your shaky video with the stabilized version. (The original clip on your PC is unaffected)

If you accept this option the clips are swapped including any you might have in the sequence line.

It works very well but don't expect it to work wonders on something VERY shaky. :)

If your clip has a lot of shake there may be a juddery border as badly displaced frames are lined up. If this is bad you can use the CROP effect to trim them (Use "Zoom to area" with this effect.)

Hope this helps

Nat

Wow, thanks Nat - I appreciate the quick response.

I just downloaded the free version of VideoPad Video Editor Professional v 3.58 and I'm telling ya, there's no stabilization anywhere to be found. :-0 I've right clicked everywhere you said, and then everywhere else, and it doesn't show up anywhere. That's why I was wondering if I need to buy the full version to find it? My tabs are

1. Sequences

2. Video Files

3. Audio Files

4. Images