Zoom animation for stills missing?

alexf

I am new to video editing, just a still photographer, but learning with my new GoPro.

How do I add a zoom animation to stills as in the "Ken Burns Efffect"?

I saw a tutorial in YouTube showing how easy it is with the Zoom and move animations, yet my selection of offered animations out of the box when I purchased VideoPad does not include Zoom. What am I missing?

Alex

In video effects, use SCALE, and set keyframes. Click the green + sign to set a keyframe. There's a separate box for scale X (horizontal) and for scale Y (vertical).

Then advance the scrubber (the red line) to a later point, click on the blue line and drag up or down - to set another keyframe. Or use the sliders at the left and click the + once again.

The closer the keyframes are spaced, the faster the action. For more on keyframes, click the ? for the HELP file and study the "Effects and Transitions - Animating Video Effects" section.

Hi

For a simple zoom or pan, right click your image on the sequence line to select and then the yellow star at the left end.

Click the small down arrow next to "Add Effects" tab and choose CROP.

You will now see a preview window to the right and a thumbnail with an orange rectangle on the left. Ther will also be the keyframe block to the right of the green crosses as mentioned by Borate.

You can force the aspect ratio to 4:3 or 16:9 as you wish or leave it free. It is best to force a particular ratio (usually 16:9) as if you use "None" the effect will leave black bars in the sequence line image. 16:9 will ensure that the VP is always full.

Make sure that the red cursor line is at the left (start of the image clip) although you can start your effect at any place.

Drag the sides or corners of the orange rectangle and drag it about to outline the starting frame of your effect. You will see the blue lines in the keyframe panels move up or down.