Audio Tape Recording - Sound Quality

mjanson73

Hello

I am recording from tape into WavePad and there is a distinct loss in sound quality for the majority of tracks.

The main problem is that sustained notes (such as orchestral chords) sound muffled and seem to be clipped after a couple of seconds, which is not the case when playing the tapes on my stereo. Plus, the bassline sounds faint so I'm using the Megabass function on stereo to get close to the required bass level.

Might be to do with the settings I'm not an expert - I'm using Line-In Recording with default Sample Rate (44100).

I'd be grateful if anyone can help.

Cheers,

Mark J

Mark: WavePad is a sound editor primarily. I know that it will record, but I have never used it for that. For my tape and LP conversions, I use Golden Records, and then move the captured .wav file into WavePad for final editing. Unless you have a boom box, I would recommend connecting your tape deck to your receiver, and then connecting the line out of the receiver to your converter (I use a Behringer UCS-202 or something like that I purchased), which connects to your computer via a USB jack. I get first-class recordings. Golden Records does have some limited audio editing capabilities, but it is nowhere near as full-featured for audio file editing as WavePad.

Golden Records is optimized for converting LPs and tapes and I think by skipping that software, you MAY be finding that WavePad isn't really designed to do what GR does so well. By the way, I don't work for NCH. It has just been my experience that you need to acquire the necessary specialized software to get a superior product. Just because something can do something, doesn't mean it can do it well. Just my two cents. Let us know how you make out; or, maybe, as often happens, someone with more knowledge will be able to explain what is going on in your situation.

Have a great day.

Regards,

-Phil