recording video, but no sound

jamieann1976

I have desperately been trying to record video chats with my fiancee' who is oversees. I can record video, but I cannot hear his voice on play back of recordings. I have purchased the professional version thinking I could get technical support, but everything they are telling me to do doesn't work. I have Windows 7. And I am new to this. I just wanted the recordings for my kids and when we are unable to video chat. PLEASE HELP ME... It records through lap top speakers, but not through headphones.

• 1 month later...
Guest N.C.H a.n

I have desperately been trying to record video chats with my fiancee' who is oversees. I can record video, but I cannot hear his voice on play back of recordings. I have purchased the professional version thinking I could get technical support, but everything they are telling me to do doesn't work. I have Windows 7. And I am new to this. I just wanted the recordings for my kids and when we are unable to video chat. PLEASE HELP ME... It records through lap top speakers, but not through headphones.

Hi,

When the 'Line in' or 'Mic' option is selected, debut will record the audio that is connected to the 'line in' or 'Mic' port on the back of the pc if you ahve this option selected to record the sound from this device in the options.

If there is no audio connected to this socket, debut will not record anything.

If you are trying to record sound from streaming video on your computer, you would need to use a stereo mix option (if your sound card supports this), or for most cases you can connect a male to male 3.5 inch stereo cable from the speaker output on the computer to the 'line in' port, this will cause the audio to go out through the speaker port, then back in through the line in where it will be recorded.

How to enable the "Wave Out mix" ("Stereo Mix", "Record What you hear") in Windows 7/Vista

Go to the Control panel and double click the "Sound".

Select the "Recording" tab